Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Japan rugby sevens team



Japan’s sevens head coach Kensuke Iwabuchi is looking forward to competing on their home soil

The Japan Rugby Football Union has announced 12 players selected for Japan men’s and women’s Rugby Sevens teams for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

The announcement coincides with the unveiling of the new jersey for the National Sevens teams, replacing the current jersey which has been worn by the national teams since the 2018 Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco.

Chihito Matsui has been appointed captain of the Japan Men’s Sevens by Head Coach Kensuke Iwabuchi, while the Japan Women’s Sevens Head Coach Hare Makiri has named co-captains in Mayu Shimizu and Bativakalolo Raichelmiyo.

Japan Men’s captain – Chihito Matsui

Four Fijians have been named in the men’s and women’s squad which saw the return of veteran forwards Kameli Soejima and Jose Seru while Lote Tuqiri is in the backs and Raichelmiyo Bativakalolo was made co-captain in the women’s team.

In the men’s team, Kameli Soejima, Kazushi Hano and Lote Tuqiri all played at the Rio Olympic 2016, while Mifuyu Koide is the only player in the current women’s team represented Japan at Rio 2016.

The men’s team will train at Fuchu, Tokyo until June 21, before moving to their training camp in Hokkaido from June 25 to July 5. They will resume training from their base in Fuchu from July 11 until the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Men’s Sevens begin on July 26.

The women’s team will move to their training camp in Okinawa from June 22 until June 29, before heading into their final training camp from June 30 until the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Women’s Sevens begin on July 29.

Men’s Team

Kippei ISHIDA, Ryota Kano, Jose Seru, Kameli Raravou Latianara SOEJIMA, Lote TUQIRI, Kazushi HANO, Masakatsu HIKOSAKA, Yoshikazu FUJITA, Brackin HENRY, Colin Raijin BOURKE, Chihito MATSUI (C), Naoki MOTOMURA

Women’s Team

Mei Ohtani, Marin Kajiki, Mifuyu Koide, Mayu SHIMIZU (Co-captain), Miyu SHIRAKO, Honoka TSUTSUMI, Hana NAGATA, Wakaba HARA, Raichelmiyo BATIVAKALOLO (Co-captain), Yume HIRANO, Haruka HIROTSU, Rinka MATSUDA


Get your ultimate pure rugby outfit brought to you by Ragbi.MY

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like


The final qualification event will be hosted in Monaco on 19-20 June 2021


Tokyo Stadium - venue staged the opening game of the 2019 RWC now ready to host rugby sevens action at the Olympics


Fiji’s men taking rugby sevens’ first ever Olympic title at Rio 2016


Are you fit enough to be one of the best match official in rugby? Join us to discover what makes a good referee in...