Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

(Pic: Asia Rugby website)



17 April marks 100 days to go to rugby sevens kick off, as team preparations continue to be supported by US$4 million World Rugby investment

The squad of 22 match officials that will take charge of the women’s and men’s rugby sevens competitions at the delayed Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 has been announced by World Rugby to mark the 100 days to go milestone until the action kicks off in Tokyo Stadium on 26 July, 2021.

The match officials’ squad contains representatives from 12 countries spread across four continents and includes eight female referees. The group includes a blend of highly experience referees and exciting young talent making their debuts on the Olympic stage.

Both Sara Cox and Amy Perrett were involved in the Olympic Games Rio 2016, with Perrett having refereed the first ever Olympic rugby sevens match and also the women’s bronze medal match.

In a clear demonstration of progress, six of the selected match officials gained invaluable experience at the Youth Olympic Games 2018 in Buenos Aires, including Portugal’s Paulo Duarte who took charge of the men’s final.

The individuals were selected by the World Rugby’s Match Official Selection Committee following a comprehensive review of performances and fitness. All selected referees have proven themselves on the annual HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and many also featured at Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018 in San Francisco and the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games.

The group also includes five internationals who have swapped the playing shirt for the whistle.

Selica Winiata is a current Black Ferns player who has been capped 40 times and is aiming to compete at the Rugby World Cup on home soil next year.

She was a Rugby World Cup winner in 2017, scoring two tries in the final at her second Rugby World Cup. She is also a former Black Ferns Sevens player, becoming Rugby World Cup Sevens champion in 2013, and runner-up in 2009. She has since refereed at four events on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series and impressed when refereeing at the Oceania Rugby Women’s Sevens Championship in November 2019.

Also making the conversion from player to referee is Julianne Zussman who scored 18 tries in 44 tests for Canada and played in three Rugby World Cups, claiming a runners-up medal in 2014.

Madeleine Putz played for Australia, including twice at Rugby World Cup 2014. On the men’s side Richard Haughton played for England at Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2005 and at the Commonwealth Games in 2006, while Damon Murphy represented Australia at Rugby World Cup Sevens 2009 and at the Commonwealth Games in 2006.

The full match official squad for the Olympic Games Tokyo 2020 rugby sevens is:

Men’s tournament match officials:

James Doleman (New Zealand)
Craig Evans (Wales, Great Britain)
Francisco Gonzalez (Uruguay)** and ****
Sam Grove-White (Scotland, Great Britain)***
Noriaki Hashimoto (Japan)
Richard Haughton (England)***
Damon Murphy (Australia)***
Nehuen Rivero (Argentina)** and ****
Matt Rodden (Hong Kong)
Damian Schneider (Argentina)** and ****
Jordan Way (Australia)***

Women’s tournament match officials

Sara Cox (England, Great Britain)* and ***
Amy Perrett (Australia)*
Hollie Davidson (Scotland, Great Britain)***
Lauren Jenner (New Zealand)**
Adam Jones (Wales, Great Britain)
Paulo Duarte (Portugal)** and ****
Tyler Miller (Australia)
Madeleine Putz (Australia)**
Tevita Rokovereni (Fiji)***
Selica Winiata (New Zealand)
Julianne Zussman (Canada)

* participated at Olympic Games Rio 2016
** participated at Youth Olympic Games Buenos Aires 2018 
*** participated at Commonwealth Games Gold Coast 2018
**** participated at Pan American Games Lima 2019 

Ragbi.MY 15th edition will be out soon!

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like


Ireland’s men and France and Russia’s women claimed the three remaining sevens spots at Tokyo 2020 following the Olympic Repechage tournament.


Rugby sevens fans will be able to attend the event on 19-20 June 2021


Tokyo Stadium - venue staged the opening game of the 2019 RWC now ready to host rugby sevens action at the Olympics


Fiji’s men taking rugby sevens’ first ever Olympic title at Rio 2016