Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Annual World Rugby Pacific Four Series to kick-off in 2021 with Canada and USA competing



Cross-regional series provides consistent high-performance competition for elite women’s international teams, in line with game-changing women’s strategic plan 2017-25

World Rugby has announced details of a new cross-regional annual international competition titled,  Pacific Four Series, that will bring together some of the world’s top women’s teams.

Contested by four of the world’s top teams – Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the USA – the Pacific Four Series will act as one of the principal annual qualification routes for the top tier of WXV, with the top three-placed teams competing in WXV 1 and the fourth-placed team competing in WXV 2 from 2023 onwards.

With the pandemic continuing to cause the global sporting community challenges, the World Rugby-funded competition will soft launch in 2021 with Canada and the USA going head-to-head on 1 and 5 November.

The full four-team format will debut in 2022, ahead of Rugby World Cup 2021, creating a bumper schedule of fixtures.

The Pacific Four Series’ primary objective is to increase the reach, competitiveness, and value of women’s rugby – one of the world’s fastest-growing team sports between Rugby World Cups, adding to a fully aligned global competition calendar for the world’s top players.

Mastercard, the founding partner of Women in Rugby, continues to strengthen its support and commitment to raising the global profile of women’s rugby as they become the founding Global Partner and Preferred Card of the 2021 and 2022 Pacific Four Series tournaments.  

Mastercard and World Rugby will celebrate the fans and players by honoring a Fan of the Match and Player of the Match at 2021 Pacific Four Series matches.  

A key pillar of World Rugby’s game-changing global strategic women’s plan 2017-25, the World Rugby Pacific Four Series delivers on developing more world-class, high-performance and inspirational competitions to increase the competitiveness of women’s international rugby.

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said, “World Rugby is committed to investing in high-performance competitions to increase the competitiveness of the women’s game at an elite level.

“We had previously announced a new cross-regional tournament featuring New Zealand, Australia, USA and Canada as part of the WXV competition qualification structure, which starts in 2023.

“The Pacific Four Series will provide quality playing opportunities and further support teams as they prepare to compete at Rugby World Cup 2021 in New Zealand next year. We look forward to watching teams compete again at the highest level for what will undoubtedly be a thrilling showcase of women’s elite rugby from some of the best teams in the world.” — World Rugby

Pacific Four Series 2021 match schedule

Monday, 1 November 2021
USA v Canada
Infinity Park, Glendale

Friday, 5 November 2021
USA v Canada
Infinity Park, Glendale


Issue #17 featuring Senator Wan Ahmad Fayhsal as cover page

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like