Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

(Pic: Asia Rugby website)



The final qualification event will be hosted in Monaco on 19-20 June 2021

Preparations for the Tokyo 2020 Olympics Games rugby sevens competition took another step forward with the confirmation of the pools for the World Rugby Sevens Repechage.

With 21 of the 24 teams already confirmed for the Olympic competition, the final qualification event that will be hosted in Monaco on 19-20 June will see the remaining two women’s and one men’s teams book their tickets to Tokyo.

Held at the iconic Hotel Hermitage in Monaco, the draw was opened by World Rugby Vice-Chairman Bernard Laporte and undertaken by His Serene Highness Prince Albert II and Monegasque Rugby Union Chairman, Gareth Wittstock.

In the women’s competition, the 12 teams involved in the draw have been allocated into three pools of four teams. The top two teams in each pool, plus the two third-placed teams with the highest point totals will qualify for the knockout stages of the competition. With two qualification places yet to grab, both winners in the final two games will claim their ticket to Tokyo.

Tuesday’s draw saw Colombia and France, the only women’s teams to have participated in the Rio 2016 Olympic Games, paired together in a strong looking Pool C alongside Hong Kong and Madagascar.

All four teams in Pool A will be competing at their second Olympic repechage with Russia, Argentina, Mexico and Samoa all having participated at the qualifying tournament prior to Rio 2016, the Russians having lost 19-12 to Spain in the final in Dublin.

In Pool B, highest ranked Papua New Guinea will face Kazakhstan, Jamaica and Tunisia.

For the men’s competition, the ten teams in contention for the final Olympic qualification place have been drawn into two pools of five teams. Teams will play against all four opponents in their pools with the top two teams from each pool progressing through two knockout stages, culminating in a winner being decided in the final.

The men’s draw saw HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series core teams Samoa and Ireland paired in Pool A together with Tonga, Zimbabwe and Mexico. France were the top seeded team based on their performances in the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series where they finished sixth in 2020 and they are drawn in Pool B along with Hong Kong, Chile, Uganda and Jamaica.

The 22 teams still in contention for a precious Olympic spot can now start to prepare for the final Olympic qualification event due to be held at the Stade Louis II in Monaco on 19-20 June — World Rugby

Get the latest edition of Ragbi.MY featuring MALROSE Mission to Jeli

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

You May Also Like


Japan’s sevens head coach Kensuke Iwabuchi is looking forward to competing on their home soil


Tokyo Stadium - venue staged the opening game of the 2019 RWC now ready to host rugby sevens action at the Olympics


Fiji’s men taking rugby sevens’ first ever Olympic title at Rio 2016


Are you fit enough to be one of the best match official in rugby? Join us to discover what makes a good referee in...